Online Quran Learning, Quran, Quran for Kids

The 5 Pillars of Islam

The 5 Pillars of Islam is one of the most important basic Islamic studies that every Muslim must learn & understand very well.

The Five Pillars of Islam (in Arabic: “أركان الإسلام” and pronounced as “arkān al-Islām”) represent the 5 core beliefs and practices of Islam. Each pillar represents a certain obligatory act or practice that every Muslim must fulfill in his or her lifetime.

what is the 5 pillars in Islam ?

In this article, we’ll get to know what are the 5 pillars of Islam, the importance of each pillar, and how to learn the five pillars of Islam.

1. The Shahadah (The Declaration of Faith)

The Shahadah (The Declaration of Faith) – Quran Ayat

The Shahadah (The Declaration of Faith) is the first pillar of Islam and the most fundamental expression of Islamic beliefs. It’s the act of sincerely reciting from the bottom of the heart that “There is no God but God and Muhammad is his prophet”.

“The Shahada” is the affirmation of faith in Islam, combining the themes of unity and mercy that are found in the Quran. It consists of 2 parts that represent the main beliefs of Islam:

The first part of Shahada states that there is no god but Allah (SWT) which means that no other being has the right to be worshiped and that Allah almighty has neither partner nor son.The second part of the Shahada witnesses that our beloved prophet Muhammad (PBUH) is the last prophet & messenger sent by Allah (SWT).

“I testify that there is no god but Allah (SWT), and Muhammad is the Messenger of Allah (SWT)”

The Shahadah statement in English

أشھد ان لا الہ الا اللہ, وأشھد ان محمد رسول اللہ

The Shahadah statement in Arabic

Importance of The Shahadah: The First Pillar of Islam

This pillar is your initial submission to Islam. “The Shahadah” reminds the Muslims about the purpose of their life which is to worship Allah (SWT) alone by learning Quran, apply its teachings, and teachings of the last prophet Muhammad (PBUH). When Muslims declare their faith, they are united with other Muslims as everyone tries to fulfill this purpose and feel closer to Allah (SWT).

2. Salah (Daily Prayer)

“Salah” or “Salat” comes from the Arabic word “صَلَاَةْ” which refers to the Muslim Prayer. Salah is the second pillar of Islam and represents the backbone of Islamic belief.

Muslims have to perform 5 obligatory prayers daily according to a certain time schedule when they turn individually and collectively to Makkah, performing certain rituals to fulfill this great holy duty.

The five-set prayers & their times are:

Fajr (Dawn Prayer)Zhuhr (Noon Prayer)Asr (After Noon Prayer)Maghrib (Sunset Prayer)Isha (After sunset Prayer and Before Midnight)

Prayer includes a recitation of the opening sura of the Quran(Surah Al-Fatiha) and other small surahs, in addition to performing certain moves and positions. Accordingly, in order to perform the prayer, you must learn Quran recitation.

Although you can perform salah solely, it is meritorious to perform it in a group. Moreover, It is permissible to pray at home, at work, or even outdoors; however it is highly recommended that Muslim males perform salah in a mosque.

Importance of The Salat: The Second Pillar of Islam

The Salat reminds Muslims of their duty towards Allah (SWT) in worshipping Him throughout their lives, and that all Muslims are all equal in front of Allah Almighty.

It also brings Muslims together and makes them feel that Allah (SWT) is watching them all the time. It stops them from making everyday life more important than worshipping Allah (SWT); success in ordinary life depends on prayer.

Consequences of not performing the 5 daily prayers (infographics) – Quran Ayat

3. Zakat (Almsgiving/Charity)

Zakat (AlmsgivingCharity) – Quran Ayat

“Zakat” comes from the Arabic word “زَكَاةْ” which means purification. It’s the third pillar of Islam and refers to giving the Alms or charity to benefit the poor and the needy.

According to Islam, Muslims have to deduct a certain amount of their income to support the Muslims in need, and it usually about 2.5% of an individual’s net income excluding obligations and family expenses.

There are five principles that should be followed when giving the Zakāt:

The giver must declare to Allah (SWT) his intention to give the Zakāt.The Zakāt must be paid on the day that it is due.After the offering, the payer must not exaggerate on spending his money more than usual means.The payment must be suitable for the current financial situation. This means if one is wealthy then he or she needs to pay a portion of their income. If a person does not have much money, then they should compensate for it in different ways, such as good deeds and good behavior toward others.The Zakāt must be distributed in the community from which it was taken.

Importance of Zakat: The Third Pillar of Islam

Zakah reminds rich Muslims of their duty to the poor and strengthens the feelings of brotherhood among Muslims. It also stops wealthy Muslims from making money more important than Allah (SWT).

4. Sawm (Fasting during Ramadan)

“Sawm” or “Fasting” is the fourth pillar of Islam. Fasting in Islam means abstaining from many things during the fasting period, such as food, drink (including water), medication, any acts of evil, any sexual activity, backbiting, harming oneself or others, smoking, intoxication, impure thoughts, etc.

Although Muslims can voluntarily fast anytime, the obligatory fasting to all healthy adult Muslims is the one during the daylight hours of Ramadan, the ninth month of the Islamic calendar.

Moreover, in the month of Ramadan, the Quran was started to be revealed upon the prophet Muhammad (PBUH). That’s why it often called “The month of Quran” when the best action to do along with fasting is to learn Quran.

Importance of Fasting: The Fourth Pillar of Islam

“Sawm” or “Fasting” reminds Muslims of the teachings of the Qur’an because the whole Qur’an is usually recited throughout this month. It unites them because they are all fasting together and break the fast together. It makes them focus on their faith and stops them from making the desires of the body more important than worshiping Allah (SWT).

Benefits of Fasting in Ramadan (Infographics) – Quran Ayat

5. The Hajj (The Pilgrimage to Mecca)

The Hajj (The Pilgrimage to Mecca) – Quran Ayat

The Hajj, The Pilgrimage to Mecca is the fifth pillar of Islam. It’s an amazing spiritual gathering of over two million Muslims from all over the world at Mecca, Saudi Arabia, the holiest city for Muslims. In performing the Hajj, a pilgrim follows the order of ritual that the Prophet Muhammad (PBUH) performed during his last pilgrimage.

The pilgrimage of Hajj occurs annually during the 12th month of the Islamic calendar. All Muslims who are physically and financially able are required to make the pilgrimage to Mecca and the surrounding holy sites at least once in their lives.

Pilgrims have the opportunity to pray for forgiveness, reflect on their lives, and find spiritual fulfillment that they can take with them.

Importance of The Hajj: The Fifth Pillar of Islam

The Hajj reminds Muslims of Ibraheem (Peace upon him) and his worship and devotion to Allah (SWT) – so Muslims do the same. It brings the international community of Muslims together. It makes them focus on worshiping Allaah Almighty and teaches the importance of sacrifice.

Due to the importance of pillars of Islam for every Muslim in the world, Quran Ayat Institute provides a great opportunity to learn the 5 Pillars of Islam online as a part of the Islamic Studies program.

The post The 5 Pillars of Islam appeared first on Quran Ayat.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *